C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

My #1 is in the wrong position on the distributor, why?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 10:25 PM
RED UFO
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default My #1 is in the wrong position on the distributor, why?

I would like to say I am very mechanically incline but I am not experienced in setting a distributor.

I did a tune up and I must have gotten 2 plug wires switched so I went to my FSM and reconfigured the wires on the cap then the car wouldn't start. I decided to move all the wires over one position counter clockwise. The car ran fine. #1 on the cap should be closest to the #1 plug. It should be the one on the left side of the car closest to end of the air intake plenum, correct?

Well my distributor cap is cocked a little counter clockwise. How could this of gotten this way?
Old 08-16-2008, 10:39 PM
jsup
Team Owner

Location: Bergen County, NJ Democrats, doing for the country what they did for Michigan

#1 on my cap is NOT the one closest to cyl 1. It is one plug over in the rotation of the rotor, clockwise toward the passenger side.
Old 08-16-2008, 10:40 PM
USAsOnlyWay
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If I am reading correctly, you are stating that #1 terminal/post on the cap should be the one physically closest/pointing to cylinder #1.
Correct?

This is only true if the rotor inside the cap, once dropped into mesh with the distributor gear on the camshaft, is indeed pointing to that terminal.

When the distributor is out you can rotate the rotor as much as you want and as long as the crank (and thus pistons) are at top dead center (not 180* off, though that doesn't sound like what you messed up) when you drop the distributor back in, the terminal corresponding to where the rotor is pointing is now #1...as long as the motor is at top dead center.

Got it?