Mild To Wild Spare Tire Delete Bracket

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday, 08:30 AM
drcook
Safety Car

Received 991 Likes on 752 Posts
Finalist 2020 C4 of the Year - Modified
Default Mild To Wild Spare Tire Delete Bracket

I saw this here on the forum (or followed their link as they are the ones building the Targa Brace now that Tom G has retired) and decided that Mild To Wild's Spare Tire Delete Bracket was exactly what I was looking for. Ever since I found out that the actual spare tire/assembly did double duty in case of a rear end collision, I have been wanting to put something back there. We all know that factory STDBs are made of AlmostUnObtanium and rarely surface. I had saved some thin wall square steel tubing to make something, however now it can go to the scrap man.

I called the folks at MTW and found them to be polite, helpful, tolerant of my next to none patience (I worked in IT for 28 years and grew to expect instant feedback, because that is what I received from the machines, so it warped me a bit, or so my wife says). They told me to wait, that they were coming out with a modification, ie: brackets to attach a transmission cooler to.

So now its the Night Before Christmas/The Day Before My Birthday, and the brace is sitting at a UPS facility, yep you probably didn't guess it, very close to Tom Gaspar's shop, here in Ohio, for delivery tomorrow.

Over the next week or two, I will document and review for you all, the product and the installation. I chose not to get the transmission cooling fan at this time, as I need to buy a set of injectors, head gaskets (and other sundry gaskets) and have spent a bunch of money as my wife told me to get the car done, now that I am getting healthy again.